The Aubrey Hickman Award

The Aubrey Hickman Award
£500 biennially

Aubrey Hickman (1922-1986)

Aubrey was a founder member of Sempre, and its first Honorary Treasurer. In 1980 he was elected Chair of the ISME Research Commission. He was a fine viola player and composer as well as a teacher, lecturer and academic, publishing papers on statistics, the philosophy of music, creativity and perception. His intellectual integrity was matched with a generosity of spirit, particularly to newcomers to these areas of research.

Purpose of the Award

The Aubrey Hickman Award is intended to promote original research from new workers in the field.


The Award is offered biennially to a graduate student submitting the best paper to the Society's two-day Easter conference.


The Aubrey Hickman Award will be given in recognition of a paper that offers a significant and previously unpublished contribution to the knowledge and understanding of music education or music psychology.


Applicants should submit an extended abstract of 2000-3000 words to the Conference Organiser, whose details will be issued with the Call for Papers. A condition of acceptance of the award is that the paper (of 6000-8000 words) is offered first to 'Psychology of Music' for consideration for publication.

Apply for SEMPRE Hickman Award 2017

Normally, we would expect all applicants to provide the SEMPRE Trustees —as part of the application— with the name of an academic referee who can testify to the applicant's competence in undertaking the research and/or development activity successfully.

The decision-making process

The organising committee of the two-day conference, a SEMPRE committee member (if one is not involved in organising the conference) and the Editor of Psychology of Music will judge contributions according to the quality of the research that they describe, its significance to the field, originality and the clarity with which it is presented. Applicants will be informed of the outcome at least eight weeks before the conference is held. The decision of the panel is final, and the Society regrets that it is unable to enter into any correspondence regarding its decision.

Further information

For further information, please contact the Chair, Professor Graham Welch, UCL Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AL, United Kingdom. Tel: +44(0)20-7612 6550. Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

[Back to main Awards page]